Each year, The Junior Year of Stark County, Ohio, Inc. accepts nominations for its annual Women of the Year Awards. This is an event held each spring to honor deserving women who have made outstanding volunteer contributions to the Stark County community.

Thank you to our 2016-2017 WOY Sponsors!
Thank you Andrew Anthony and Down The Road Productions for your sponsorship
Thank you to a Friend of JLSC and a JLSC Sustainer for your sponsorship

The Junior League of Stark County, Ohio, Inc. is pleased to host the seventieth annual Women of the Year Award Honorees, Marcia K. Zawacky as the Community Award Recipient and Connie Rubin as the President’s Award Recipient.

Marcia, a long-time resident of Canton has given so much to her community for the past 30 plus years, including lending a hand for the animals in need to lending an ear as a phone counselor for those facing a crisis. As a graduate of the fourth class of Leadership Canton, Marcia has proven to be a leader in our community.

Marcia’s specific areas of accomplishment and leadership include: Humane Society, Animal Protection Guild (now SNAP), Crisis Intervention Center in Canton, Hall of Fame Parade Float Committee and Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Balloon Festival, and Queen Pageant Committee, Sharon Lane Chapter of the Vietnam Veterans, Mid-East Veterans Homecoming, Canton Community Kids Summit Against Drugs, Canton Area League of Women Voters, Ohio and Erie Canal Corridor Coalition, Buckeye Council of the Boy Scouts of America, Ohio Greyhound Gathering and Adoption, City of Canton’s Fair Housing Commission, Friends of Laurens Foundation and a strong advocate and leader in the Harrison Hills Neighborhood working closely with the Stark Community Foundation.

Connie, a resident of North Canton, is passionate about being involved in her community. Connie’s passion lies with encouraging the informed and active participation of citizens in government because of its significance in making our democracy work.

As a community leader, Connie’s specific areas of accomplishment over 20 years include: League of Women Voters of the Canton Area, Planned Parenthood of Stark County, Junior League of Stark County, Ohio, Inc., Leadership Stark County Citizen’s Committee, United Way of Stark County, Stark County Park District, American Free Tree Program, North Canton Area Democratic Club, North Canton Charter Review Commission, and Coming Together Stark County.

The special luncheon will be held on Thursday, May 4, 2017 at Embassy Suites in North Canton.
Doors open at 11am.
Lunch and Presentations at 11:30am.

Contact The Junior League of Stark County, Ohio, Inc. office at 330.491.4552 or via email at admin@jlstarkcounty.org if you have any questions.


For a full list of past winners click here